2016-17 Section 6AAA Preview

This is the 19th preview in my 2016-2017 season preview series.  Week 5 of the 6 week series moves along with a glance at the final metro area section in class AAA, section 6AAA.  For a list of all the season previews and how they are generated, click here.

Section 6AAA (8 teams)
Defending Champion: DeLaSalle

Predicted Seeding
  1. DeLaSalle
  2. Delano 
  3. Orono
  4. Minneapolis Henry
  5. Benilde-St. Margaret's 
  6. Waconia
  7. Mound-Westonka
  8. Blake
Once again the state AAA title goes through section 6.  It wouldn't be out of the question to see the top 4 teams here all ranked in the top 5 either together or separately during the season.  The 5 time defending state champs DeLaSalle Islanders still have to be the favorite.  Anything could happen behind them.  Delano loses center Matt Kreklow but they still have a dynamic backcourt in Calvin Wishart and Derek Techum.  Orono adds Tartan transfer Jarvis Thomas to fill the middle (replacing Sam Sustacek) and go with their bevy of shooters.  Henry has a truckload coming back as well.  I took the Wright County East teams because that league is so strong.  However, Henry can settle it on the court as they play Orono in the Hamline classic before Christmas and host Delano right before the end of the season.

Below those top 4, Waconia and Benilde-St. Margaret's should battle for the next 2 spots.  Both have a ton to replace.  Waconia loses 5 of their top 6 scorers.  But they do have a strong junior class to work with.  That includes starting PG Charlie Gove and forward Nick Fulford.  Benilde-St. Margaret's loses a pair of 17+ PPG guys but have more coming back than Waconia.  Mound-Westonka beats Blake early in the year to take the 7 seed.

Sleeper: There are no sleepers in this section.  You have 4 of the best teams in AAA plus 2 more that are traditionally strong and will plug in pieces to have quality seasons.

Section Winner: DeLaSalle.  No way I'm picking against the champs despite it being the toughest road yet.  Tyrell Terry will step right in at point. Stars Goanar Mar and Gabe Kalscheur will once again lead the way.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have a different take than mine? You can provide your take here.