2013 Class AA Championship

A great contrast of styles for the Class AA title as Litchfield takes on Minnehaha.  Minnehaha a team that wants to get out and run and make the game hectic.  Litchfield very disciplined and sound.  They make you work.
Game Time
John Pryor back to 3s as the Redhawks start 3-3 from deep.  9-5 Minnehaha at the 1st TV break at 14:10.  Riley Pater with 3 straight nice post moves to pull the Dragons within 14-13 at the 8:40 minute mark.  Marcellous Hazzard with back to back 3s after Litchfield took a 17-16 lead.  TV Timeout at the 6:15 mark with Minnehaha up 22-19. Hazzard showing surprising range as he's 3 for 3 from the deep beyond and has 12 points.  Minnehaha switches to a 2-3 zone for a different look.  Litchfield only 1-6 from 3 after their hot shooting in the semifinals.  26 all tie at the 2:58 TV timeout as Zach Kinny buries a 3 and adds a pair of assists in the last 7 points for the Dragons.

Hazzard on the run after a miss for a layup.  Minnehaha up 38-33 inside of 14 to play.  Litchfield runs the same nice set (think Jameson Parsons of Eagan for 3) back to back for 1 3 and then misses a good look at another.  Jesse Johnson for 3 and that forces a Litchfield timeout with 12:25 left.  41-36 Minnehaha leading.  Litchfield pounds the ball inside with big Riley Pater scoring and a Dylan Koll getting a free throw off a post touch.  Its Pater again on the right block as Litchfield stays within 43-41 at the 10:08 TV timeout.

Pater with another easy bucket inside and Litchfield is back to even at 43 with 8:30 to play.  Zach Kinny with the spin for a 3 point play with 7:34 to play.  Litchfield back on top 46-45.  John Pryor with the response for the Redhawks with a right wing 3.  That's his first points since the back to back bombs very early in the game.  48-46 Minnehaha as we go to a TV timeout with 6:10 to play. 

One of the best student moments of the tournament.  Minnehaha kids pull out the "I Believe" chant and Litchfield kids respond with "I believe that you will lose" chant.  Outstanding take.  An off ball foul for 2 Litchfield free throws and then Hazzard drops the shoulder inside for a charge.  Lance Johnson not at all happy with that.  Pater stripped but gets the whistle.  He misses the front end after a Minnehaha timeout with 4:25 to play and a 1 point Redhawks lead.

Pryor with his 4th bomb, this one from the top, with 3:45 to play to give Minnehaha a little breathing room going to the final TV timeout with 3:24 left.  53-51 Minnehaha and Litchfield doesn't have a field goal since the Kinny 3 point play with 7:34 left.  Minnehaha grabs an offensive board on the possession.  They'll hold the ball.  Litchfield gives 1 of their 2 to give.  Timeout Litchfield to strategize the final 1:44.  53-51 Minnehaha with the ball.

Kaharri Carter off the bounce and draws a pair of fouls.  He steps up with 1:26 left and knocks down both ends of the 1 and 1.  Cameron Sundmark gets the kickout from Zach Whitchurch and buries the 3 with 1:06 left to cut the lead to 1.  Minnehaha off the bounce and the lefty layup is no good with 45 seconds left.  Litchfield grabs the board with a chance to take the lead.  Pater's bank from the left block is no good with 25 seconds left.  Great look. 

Carter back to the line with 16.2 left.  He makes the first and Thomas Gedion grabs the miss of the second. But he's off balance and has to throw it up.  Litchfield grabs that board and takes time with 12 seconds left.  They'll have it full court.  Whitchurch up and under at the buzzer is no good.  Minnehaha wins the state title 56-54.

Post Game
For Minnehaha, they only shoot 42.2% but make 8 of 15 3s.  Kaharri Carter 11 and 8.  Marcellous Hazzard 14 and 6.  John Pryor 4 3s for 12.  Riley Pater 16 points for Litchfield.  Zach Kinny a nice all around game with 8 points, 7 boards and 6 assists.  Litchfield 5-16 from 3 and 16-27 from 2.  Minnehaha wins the rebounding battle 33-20.  They grab 13 offensive boards for 13 points compared to 4 2nd chance points for Litchfield.

Class AA All-Tournament Team
Kory Deadrick - Esko
Matt Miller, Brett Ahsenmacher - Annandale
Zach Whitchurch, Zach Kinny, Riley Pater - Litchfield
Jesse Johnson, Kaharri Carter, Thomas Gedion, Marcellous Hazzard - Minnehaha

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have a different take than mine? You can provide your take here.