08-09 St. Paul City Preview

This is the 10th installment in the 08-09 Season Preview series. If you missed any of the 1st 9 previews, you can use the Section and Conference Previews page to go back and read them. In this installment, we stay on the east side of the metro and look at the St. Paul City Conference.

Johnson Governors (2007 Season 21-7, 11-1)
Johnson returns most of their roster and will be one of the top teams in AAA. Lamar Anderson and Mike Talley return on the wings. Dion Suggs is the top scorer. Max Rosenbloom is one of the toughest rebounders in the metro. Jordan Pluff and Demitri Conwell also return. Not to mention sophomore Estan Tyler at the point. Also keep an eye out for sophomore Roosevelt Scott. He really broke out at the 43 Hoops Summer Classic in Johnson's impressive run in the 15U portion of that event.

Central Minutemen (2007 Season 21-7, 11-1)
Central looked like they were going to be tough again this season even without star Larry Brown. But Dylan Hale is gone to Washburn so that changes everything. Taylor Smaller returns in the back court. Hard working big Jordan Larson returns up front along with LaDarian Horton.

Como Park Cougars (2007 Season 20-10, 8-4)
The Cougars not only have to replace longtime coach Dan Brink, they also have to replace their top 2 scorers in Greg Morse and Steven Baker. They also have to replace the toughness and effort of power forward Lewis Johnson. Keep an eye on their 2010 class. Jordan Jackson should lead the way as he was impressive in Magic fall league play. Reggie Ray and Joe Conley are a couple of other nice juniors. Seniors Rico Phillips and Marcus Gustafson return as other guards. Look for them to be small and quick.

Arlington Phoenix (2007 Season 13-14, 6-6)
Their record was indicative of how bad the bottom of the league was last year despite their 2 closer than expected games vs Johnson. Marques Johnson-Smith is a big scorer that is gone. DeAndre White, Travon McKee and DeMarkeo Jones are returnees of note.

Humboldt Hawks (2007 Season 7-16, 2-10)
They'll have to replace guard Bobbie Hughes and forward Keenan Kent. Henry Jenkins returns in the middle. Juniors Melvin Dees and LaKing Franklin also return.

Highland Park Scots (2007 Season 5-21, 2-10)
The Scots lose almost everyone from last year's team. The 20 PPG from Prentice Cobbins will have to be replaced.

Harding Knights (2007 Season 3-21, 2-10)
The Knights lose their leading scorer Alonzo Williams. Senior Andre Creighton and junior Vernon Keller are the notable returnees.

Predicted Order of Finish
  1. Johnson
  2. Como Park
  3. Central
  4. Arlington
  5. Highland Park
  6. Harding
  7. Humboldt
Player of the Year: Dion Suggs - Johnson

Games that will determine the conference title
  • Central at Johnson - January 10th
  • Johnson at Como Park - January 16th
  • Como Park at Central - January 30th
  • Johnson at Central - February 10th
  • Como Park at Johnson - February 12th
  • Central at Como Park - February 27th
Non-Conference Games to Watch
  • Como Park at Cretin-Derham Hall - December 9th
  • Minneapolis Washburn at Johnson - December 16th
  • Johnson vs Milwaukee Washington - December 23rd (Milwaukee Lutheran showcase)
  • Johnson vs Minnetonka - December 27th (1st round Bethel Tournament)
  • Johnson vs Eden Prairie/Mounds View - December 29th (Bethel 2nd round)
  • Como Park at St. Bernard's - January 20th
  • Robbinsdale Armstrong at Johnson - February 3rd
  • Washburn vs Johnson rematch - March 7th (projected Twin Cities game)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have a different take than mine? You can provide your take here.