2010 Mr Basketball Final 25 named

The final 25 for the 2010 Minnesota Mr Basketball award have been announced.  Here they are followed by my commentary.

Peter Crawford 6-5 Benilde-SM
Chad Calcaterra 6-10 Cloquet
Jake Thomas 6-3 Columbia Heights
Calvin Godfrey 6-8 Cooper
Seantrel Henderson 6-8 Cretin-Derham Hall
Dyami Starks 6-2 Duluth East
Vinard Birch 5-10 Eastview
Brett Ervin 6-5 Eden Prairie
Trevor Gruis 6-8 Ellsworth
Zach Riedeman 6-5 Forest Lake
Mike Rostampour 6-7 Henry Sibley
Jordan Jackson 6-2 Henry Sibley
Yuriy Malashenko 6-5 Jordan
Shaun Condon 6-2 MACCRAY
Taylor Hanson 6-6 Minnehaha Academy
Cole Stefan 6-3 Minnetonka
Aaron Anderson 6-2 Osseo
Kevin Noreen 6-10 Minnesota Transitions
Jordan Hughes 5-10 Mpls. Patrick Henry
Alonzo Traylor 6-7 Mpls. South
Ben Bucholz 6-7 Perham
Marshall Bjorklund 6-6 Sibley East
Scott Nystrom 6-2 St. Cloud Tech
Taylor Filipek 6-6 Willmar
Alec Brown 6-11 Winona

Biggest surprise to me in the list was the omission of Alex Hanks of St. Cloud Tech.

My final 5 right now are Kevin Noreen, Alec Brown, Calvin Godfrey, Marshall Bjorklund and Jacob Thomas.  I pick those 5 based on skill, impact on the game and their teams and team performance.  The 1st 4 are from teams that have been in the top 5 in the top 2 classes and have dominated.  The 5th spot was much tougher but Thomas gets the nod with 27 PPG (which includes an 8 point game in a holiday blowout so he could be averaging 28-29 a game) and the big games against Hopkins (38), BSM (47) and Staples-Motley (33).  MACCRAY's Shaun Condon makes a great case with 24.5 per game for the top ranked team in Class A.  Or if you're going small school do you take Ellsworth's Trevor Gruis and his 18.6 and 11.9 boards. I already have Bjorklund here from the MN River, but 21 and almost 16 a night from Yuriy Malashenko is hard to ignore. 


  1. All I can say is hopefully this year they consider a citzenship or leadership component to their pick as well.

  2. I would have liked to see Riewer from Staples-Motley on the top 25, excellent player.

    Also, I don't know if I like Godfrey being on there, as he just showed up this year.


  3. In my case, my criteria was best senior. Length of time or career accomplishments weren't part of it. Leadership is part of it and why I would have voted for Bruesewitz last year as he was a leader of his team and Royce wasn't (and that has nothing to do with Royce's history).


Have a different take than mine? You can provide your take here.